Advice Needed on Optimizing Vector Search in Weaviate

Hey everyone!

I am fairly new to Weaviate and have been working on a project that involves using vector search to improve the accuracy of some recommendation algorithms. So far, it’s been pretty exciting, but I feel like there’s still a lot more potential that I could unlock with Weaviate.

Right now, I’m looking for some advice on a few things:

1. Index configurations: Are there any specific settings you recommend to optimize performance when dealing with large datasets?
  2. Vector dimensions: Is there an ideal range of vector dimensions I should aim for, or does it really depend on the type of data I’m working with?
  3. Hybrid search: I’ve read a bit about hybrid search (vector + keyword) but haven’t tried it out yet. Has anyone had success with this, and if so, how did you set it up?

When I was searching about this, I came across these resources/articles 🔍 Seeking Assistance with Weaviate Vector Search UiPath Tutorial, however, they are quite good, but I wanted to learn more form community members.

Would love to hear your thoughts, suggestions, or even experiences with similar projects.

Appreciate any guidance you can share.

Thanks in advance

hi @halcyoncv !!

Glad you are enjoying your Weaviate journey :slight_smile:

1. Regarding index configuration, some options that can help you on having a more performant vector index are ef efConstruction and maxConnections, as stated here: Vector indexes | Weaviate

2. For the right embedded model and vector dimension, it will indeed depend on your data. For example, if you need multi language support, you will need to use a model that has support for the target languages. If your chunks are larger, a high dimension vector can capture more meaning, and give you better results. So before deciding on the model, it is interesting to do some tests/benchmarks.